A book is any document that has a collection of 49 pages or more that are bound together with a distinctive title (Aina, 2004). A book can be in a print form or electronic form. BUAN library has both the print and the electronic books. The print books are located in the library stacks while the electronic books are accessible though the library databases available on the library website.
Books are normally useful when looking for information that broadly covers a given topic. It provides a detailed overview of any area of research.
To find print books from the library:
NB: For each book title, the Location, Call number and status will be displayed. These details are necessary when locating the book from the stacks.
A book is made up of the following features:
Title page: This page basically describes a book. It provides the full title of the book, subtitle, the author's information, publication details and edition.
Copyright page: It provides the legal right to exclusive ownership given by the Government to the author or the publisher of the book. The page normally provides the copyright notice and year, International Standard Book Number (ISBN), Cataloguing in Publication (CIP) details and the Library of Congress Catalogues Card Number. The publisher information is also included.
Table of Contents: This page provides the outline of the book. It is a list usually found before the start of the body of text, the list consists of chapter or section titles or brief descriptions with their commencing page numbers.
Preface: This is the section of the book where now the author provides the reasons for writing the book. It is also where the author acknowledges those who assisted in the writing of the book.
The body of the text: This is the main content of the book.
References and bibliographies: The reference section provides works that have been cited and bibliography provides additional sources that have been consulted.
Appendix: This section provides additional information on the topic of the book. It outlines information such as other books on the topic, reference, citation, etc.
Index: This section is found at the back of the book. It provides a list of terms used within the book as well as their corresponding page numbers within which the reader can locate them within the book.
On the Library home page:
