Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (BUAN) Library was set up in 1967 when the University was established. The library was situated at the centre of the campus up to 1994 when a new building was completed. The new building is now situated at the far western side of the campus. It is situated 11km north of Gaborone at Content Farm in Sebele.
The Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources Library, shall be a world-class information service provider contributing towards the advancement of the university scholarship activities.
We exist to support the teaching, learning, research and outreach activities of the University by:
Customers : Customers are the reason for our existence. We show concern for them through continuous consultation, feedback and improvement of service delivery.
Service : We are committed to providing quality customer-driven service in a timely, courteous, professional and caring manner.
Collection : Collection is our indispensable resource. We are committed to building a collection that will meet the needs of our customers.
Staff : Staff is our most important resource in service provision. We are committed to developing and retaining competent, confident, and pro-active staff.
Stakeholders : They are our partners in library development. We strive to maintain good working relationship with them.
Environment : The environment is our base, therefore we pledge to make it conducive to studying and and learning.
1: About Us :Background information about the library.
2: Search the catalog, electronic databases, course reserves as well as past examination papers and students projects.
3: Services: Description of all the services offered by the library.
4: Contact us: Get in contact with your Librarian.
5: A gateway to search all the library holdings from one search point. Can filter to retrieve only articles or books.
6: Quick links: Links to frequently used website links.
7: Quick links to patron's individual library accounts.
8: Help on how to become a member and how to query the catalog.
9: Log-in to the library website.
10: Library opening hours (Main Campus and MITI Campus)
11: Follow and like the library on different social media platforms for news and updates.
12: Chat with a Librarian for virtual asistance.
The Discovery tool is found on the Library Home page. It searches across a wide variety of resources, including the physical collections, electronic resources and many of the available databases.
The Library catalog is used to search for the physical collections of the Library such as books, periodicals, CDs and thesis & dissertations.
Take note of the Location, Call # and status for the selected material. The location will guide you on the exact location from which the material is located and the call number will be used to locate the exact material. The status will indicate whether the material is available, in circulation or it has been pulled out of the collection for various reasons.
Libguides are created by Librarians at BUAN to curate and share key information resources relevant to your subject. These are friendly, easy to use resources they will help your locate relevant information towards your assignment and research.
To access the Library electronic content when off campus, use OpenAthens and follow the following step by step login procedure.
2.Click on Login to MyAthens link. The webpage akin to one shown below will be displayed .
3. Type in “Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources” in the textbox under “Find your Institution” text or caption. Click on Search icon.
Alternatively
When entering the name of our institution, a hyperlinked “Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources” text will appear under Search box, click on it and it will take you to the next page.
The webpage that looks like the one below, will be displayed.
4. Please enter your institutional email address (e.g.employee@)buan.ac.bw OR student#@buan.ac.bw) and click on Next Then enter password for your BUAN email and click on Sign in. (e.g.employee@)buan.ac.bw OR student#@buan.ac.bw) and click on Next
Then enter password for your BUAN email and click on Sign in.
5. After passing the authentication process, MyAthens Home page will be displayed.
It shows all BUAN library e-Resources.
The Library team is always ready to assist you with any queries related to your research or assignment writing. Should you be having any challenges in locating the relevant resources available in the library, using the library electronic resources, referencing and citation and editing your work, consult the Library team for assistance.
One-on-one or group bookings can be made at the library. You can also utilise the Chat and Ask-a-Librarian services which will connect you with a Librarian for assistance. Otherwise, use any of the Library social media platforms to get in contact with the Librarians.