LibGuides: Orientation guide for new users: Library Collections

Print & A/V Collections

These are books kept in open shelves of the library which can be borrowed using the university identification card which is also used as library card.

These include the dictionaries (subject specific as well as general), encyclopaedias and year book used as reference. These are for use within the library and they cannot be checked out.

The university special collections comprise of SADC publications, FAO publications, Botswana collections (materials published about Botswana), theses and dissertations. These are for use within the library.

AV materials are available for short loans through the course facilitators. The library has a designated PC workstation for viewing of AV collection. For further inquiry on this service contact the library Customer Service staff.

The collection comprises of course recommended text that are put on reserve by members of the faculty. These are housed within the Circulation Desk. To request for the title, you need, consult the library staff at the circulation desk. They can be utilised for 2hours within the library, items that are not returned on time attract overdue fines (P1.00 per hour).

These are materials which are periodically published in separate parts in regular intervals. They are also referred to as serials. BUAN library has these as part of the collection and they can be used for reference purposes within the library. The library also allows for overnight use of print journals; users can contact the librarian on duty at the circulation desk for further assistance on the service. In addition to journals, the library also has magazines and local newspapers for leisure reading.

Databases

BOJAAS BOJAAS publishes original research in all areas of agriculture and its related applied sciences. The Journal accepts Review papers which attempts to bring together state of the art in agriculture in Botswana and in the region. Current and global hot topics with relevance to agriculture productivity and farmer’s livelihood in Botswana are encouraged.
The journal is published by the Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources
EBSCOhost EBSCOhost  is the leading provider of research databases, e-journal and e-package subscription management, book collection development and acquisition management It is also  a major provider of library technology, e-books and clinical decision solutions for universities, colleges, hospitals, corporations, government, schools and public libraries worldwide.
ProQuest Ebook Central Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
SA ePublications
ScienceDirect A large database of scientific, technical and medical research

Electronic Collections

These consists of;

Electronic books which can be accessed through the ProQuest, EBSCOHost, Research4life platforms offering a multidisciplinary access to electronic books.
Electronic journals which the library subscribes to through; SA ePublications (Sabinet), ScienceDirect, ProQuest, Research4life (HINARI, AGORA, OARE, ARDI and GOALI) and EbscoHost.
Institutional Repository (IR): BUAN AgriResearchSpace is a digital service that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material. Repositories are important tools for preserving an organization's legacy; they facilitate digital preservation and scholarly communication.
Past exam papers and students’ projects: Research and faculty guides: these are developed by faculty and departmental libraries to support research in specific topics or disciplines.